Beginner’s Chunky Seed Stitch Ear Warmer

Beginners Chunky Seed Stitch Ear Warmer - Dec 2013

About Beginner’s Chunky Seed Stitch Ear Warmer

My commute to work is a triathlon of sorts. First a short walk, which is just long enough to freeze if you’re not bundled up head to toe. The second event is a long ride on an overheated train which is only tolerable if you remove all knit layers. The last leg of my commute ends with another brisk but bitter walk to my final destination requiring me to reapply all of the layers that I had previously shed. By the time I reach my desk, what would have otherwise been a good hair day is in serious jeopardy from repeatedly pulling my hat on and off my head. In an effort to preserve my hairdo this Chunky Seed Stitch Ear Warmer was born. It keeps my ears warm and my hair in place by serving double duty as a headband. It’s a quick knit making it perfect for beginners, while the seed stitch pattern elevates it giving it that added detail that will have other commuters envious of its warmth and versatility.

Click here to download the full printer friendly pattern

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Beginner’s Chunky Seed Stitch Ear Warmer

  1. Mary says:

    I need to make this in two colors, knitting as ONE YARN… any idea how many to cast on?

    • Tabitha says:

      Hi Mary, I’m also about to make this with 2 strands held together to match a black and grey scarf. Since it calls for bulky (5) weight yarn I’m using 2 strands of worsted (4) weight yarn. I plan to start with the suggested cast on, knit a round or 2 to see if it will fit and adjust as needed. Good luck with your project!

Leave a Reply

